skip to content
Driving Line Mark Logo

2017 Formula Drift Irwindale Recap [GALLERY]

Descending upon the House of Drift for one final smoke show, the 2017 Formula Drift championship finals at Irwindale Speedway brought it! There were plenty of walls kissed, clipping markers run over and even a few spouts of flame—but there were also some of the fiercest battles we've seen in a long time. While FD won't be visiting Irwindale again, it's clear that these PRO drivers are hungry and continually striving to up their drifting game.

For more action from Irwindale, check out the gallery above and head over to our Top 32 Play-by-Play to check in on the specific battles your favorite drivers waged.

Photos by Cory Mader, Luke Munnell and Randy Wilcox

At the end of the night, James Deane took home the 2017 championship—a title he'd nearly earned by just showing up at Irwindale. For the night, it was Piotr Wiecek on the top of the podium—snagging his first FD victory and Rookie of the Year honors as well.

2017 Championship Top 5

  1. James Deane
  2. Fredric Aasbo
  3. Odi Bakchis
  4. Vaughn Gittin Jr.
  5. Kristaps Bluss

Irwindale 2017 Event Top 5

  1. Piotr Wiecek
  2. Dai Yoshihara
  3. James Deane
  4. Vaughn Gittin Jr.
  5. Fredric Aasbo

For a full Top 32 rundown from Formula Drift Irwindale, get our comprehensive recap here.

Return to Top

Recommended For You

Loading ...