skip to content
Driving Line Mark Logo

2016 Formula Drift Texas Recap [Gallery]

The Showdown at Texas Motor Speedway proved just how much consistency plays into the fates of these drifters. Matt Field ended up at the top of the podium at Formula Drift Texas, but it's Chris Forsberg who leads the pack in points as we head into the final championship event, despite having no first place finishes this year; simply making it to the podium has sufficed. Consistency wrote a different story for Vaughn Gittin Jr., however, as the former points leader spun out in his Top 16 run against Field – in the same zone his Mustang fell victim to and totaled last year. Things seemed to be looking up for fellow Nitto driver "Mad" Mike Whiddett as he made it into the Great 8, only to suffer a ruptured intake manifold before the run even started, shooing Alec Hohnadell into the Final 4.

Mad Mike Whiddett Formula Drift Texas 2016

Regardless of this bout of misfortunes the last few rounds, Gittin Jr. remains a contender for the Formula Drift Pro Champion title alongside Forsberg and reigning champ Fredric Aasbo, thanks to his killer performance in the first half of the season (i.e. Road Atlanta and Wall Speedway).

Chris Forsberg and Frederic Aasbo at Formula Drift Texas 2016

So who's it going to be? We'll be posted at the hallowed drifting grounds of Irwindale Speedway October 7-8 to find out. Join us!

Capture the action from Round 7 of Formula Drift in our photo gallery above and get the entire rundown in our Top 32 Play-by-Play.

(Photos: Andrew Jennings)

Return to beginning of article

Recommended For You

Loading ...