skip to content
Driving Line Mark Logo

2017 Formula Drift Orlando Recap [Gallery]

Formula Drift commenced its second round of the season at Orlando Speed World with a lot of heat and a lot of tire smoke. If you expected the result at Round 1 to repeat itself, then you thought wrong. The Final 4 drivers in Orlando were completely different from the Final 4 in Long Beach, with No. 1 Qualifier Dai Yoshihara, No. 2 Fredric Aasbo, No. 5 Michael Essa and No. 22 Vaughn Gittin Jr. of Team Nitto — proving the depth of FD's 2017 driver lineup.

The Final Battle pitted Aasbo and Essa (both one-time Series champs) against each other; in the end, Aasbo came out on top, securing his ninth event win and tying Gittin Jr. and Samuel Hübinette with most event wins. Essa's second-place finish was actually his first podium since FD Long Beach 2014, breaking a 22-event dry spell. Because of Yoshihara's top Qualifying spot, he claimed third place, and Gittin Jr. claimed fourth — not bad, considering his No. 22 Qualifying position.

Catch all the action from Orlando Speed World in the gallery at the top!

(Photos: Andrew Jennings)

As we head into Round 3 at Road Atlanta, the top five drivers are, respectively: Fredric Aasbo, James Deane, Ryan Tuerck, Michael Essa and Vaughn Gittin Jr.

For more in-depth coverage, check out our comprehensive FD Orlando play-by-play.

Return to beginning of article

Recommended For You

Loading ...